ASANTI Lotta & Joyah Lotta & Joyah SANA SANA

 

 

On July 9th we experienced probably the coolest christening Heidelberg has ever seen. The
garden was decorated with colour, rabbits popped out of a box, there was a buffet with a very yummy variety of food, everyone was happy with the added bonus of nice music and good weather. All in all it was a wonderful celebration whereby Tilin, Niki, Mera, Julian, Joyah and Lotta were all the center of attention. Both dads conveyed the value of a godfather very nicely, which made the ceremony even more special.

 

“…The word godfather comes from the latin language and means spiritual father. However, a godfather’s role should not only be limited to support the religious development of children but also help them to develop and strengthen their social skills that shall enable them to become an open minded and tolerant human being…”

 

Even well in advance the two parents were busy planning the event. Their primary motivation was to plan the celebration for Joyah and Lotta, who will one day be able to look back at this unique event together with their godfathers by their sides. The celebration did not take place in a traditional sense because it did not focus so much on the christian aspect, for example, excluding a holy water ceremony. But what does this all have to do with Pamoja Africa? Mera, Tilin, Julian and Niki would not be who they are if they didn’t see the bigger picture and think of their fellow human beings. They decided not to take any presents for their two daughters but instead raise funds for Pamoja Africa. As a result the impressive sum of 600 € came together. Joyah’s daddy, or rather grandpa Günter Boy, went one step further and donated his birthday present of 1.000 € to the orphanage Maua Villa. Wow wow wow! We are overwhelmed by your support and want to thank every single donor from all our heart. YOU are the ones who leave their footprints in Kivingoni and push the project even further forward.

 

What’s next?

We will use a big amount of the donations for preparing our project “Drinking Water for Maua Villa”. Therefore we first need a land surveyor who will check a possible drilling depth for the water hole. Additionally we will use your donations for all necessary permits. You lay the milestone for the first step of having a functioning drinking water supply. Step by step a vision becomes reality. Especially for Meshack and the 8 children the news were a big surprise and great joy. Now we are on our way for providing clean drinking water. The Maua Villa family and I proudly say thank you and look optimistically into the future.

Asanti Sana!

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someoneShare on Google+

This post is also available in: German

Leave a comment

ASANTI Lotta & Joyah Lotta & Joyah SANA SANA

 

 

Am 9. Juli feierten wir das wohl coolste alternativ Patenfest, das Heidelberg je gesehen hat. Der Garten war bunt geschmückt, es wurden Hasen aus einer Kiste gezaubert, wir hatten tolle musikalische Unterhaltung, ein reichliches Buffet, eine tolle, ausgelassene Stimmung und auch das Wetter zeigte sich zu diesem besonderen Anlass von seiner besten Seite. Durch und durch eine wunderschöne Feier bei der Joyah und Lotta die beiden Goldschätze von Tilin & Niki und Mera & Julian im Mittelpunkt standen. Die Daddy’s der beiden vermittelten die Werte einer Patenschaft und verliehen der Zeremonie eine ganz besondere persönliche Note.

 

„…Das Wort Pate stammt aus dem lateinischen und bedeutet frei übersetzt geistlicher Vater. Paten sollen aber nicht nur Begleiter der religiösen Entwicklung des Kindes sein. Ebenso wichtig ist die Unterstützung darin die Kinder in ihren sozialen Kompetenzen zu stärken und zu einem Weltoffenen, toleranten Menschenbild  zu verhelfen…“

 

Bereits weit im Voraus hatten sich die Eltern mit den Vorstellungen und der Umsetzung des Patenfests beschäftigt. Es sollte natürlich in erster Linie eine Feier für Joyah und Lotta sein, die irgendwann auf dieses einzigartige Fest zurückblicken und auch ohne kirchliches Weihwasser Paten für ihr Leben an ihre Seite haben sollten. Doch was hat das mit Pamoja Africa zu tun? Mera, Tillin, Julian und Niki, wären nicht sie, wenn sie nicht auch bei diesem Anlass über den Tellerrand hinausschauen und an ihre Mitmenschen gedacht hätten. Die vier haben sich gemeinsam dazu entschlossen, auf Geschenke für ihre zwei Mädels zu verzichten und stattdessen eine Spendenaktion für Pamoja Africa gestartet. Bei dieser Aktion sind stolze 600 Euro zusammengekommen!!! Papa bzw. Opa Günter Boy (Joyahlicherseits) hat gleich noch einen oben draufgesetzt und auf seine Geburtstagsgeschenke verzichtet womit in Summe 1.000 Euro für das Kinderheim Maua Villa zusammengekommen sind. Wow wow wow! Wir sind überwältigt von euer Unterstützung und möchten uns von Herzen bei jedem einzelnen Spender bedanken! IHR seid es, die es ermöglicht in Kivingoni einen Beitrag zu leisten um das Projekt voran zu treiben.

 

Wie es jetzt weiter geht?

Wir werden ein Großteil der Spenden für die ersten Vorbereitungen für „Trinkwasser für Maua Villa“ nutzen. Hierzu muss zunächst ein Landvermesser engagiert werden der die Bohrtiefe des Wasserlochs bestimmen kann. Zudem werden wir eure Spenden für die benötigten Genehmigungen einsetzten. Ihr habt den Grundstein für den ersten Schritt der Trinkwasserversorgung gelegt! Aus einer Mission wird Schritt für Schritt Realität. Für die 8 Kids und Meshack war diese Nachricht eine riesen Überraschung und eine noch größere Freude. Wir sind nun also abgebogen und auf dem richtigen Weg zu sauberem Wasser…  Die Maua Villa Family und ich bedanken uns voller Stolz und sind voller Zuversicht auf die kommende Zeit!!

Asanti Sana!

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someoneShare on Google+

This post is also available in: Englisch

Leave a comment