Animal House Animal House Water Scan Water Scan Dog cottage dog cottage

 

I have just returned from Kenya with new ideas and full of motivation. It was a packed 4 weeks and we brought many things on the way. Most of all, I’m personally looking forward to our new house mom Florence. She is such a great person, takes care of our kids and even has a teaching background which is very valuable for helping the kids with their homework.
 

We have laid the foundation for “Drinking water for Maua Villa” and through a ground scan we’ve established that there is water on the property. Water is and remains the greatest challenge especially when the rainy season doesn’t turn out as such. During the month I was there, it only rained twice and due to that the people over there don’t expect a harvest which brings them in the need to buy food even such as maize and beans, which is actually grown by every family. This is challenging without an income. Now that we know we have water on the property is the start for a sustainable project. It will still be a long way until we have enough funds to support the project “Drinking water for Maua Villa” but I have no doubt we can make this happen together.
 

We now have a animal house – which can be used as storage for the harvest at the same time – as well as 2 cows, 3 goats and our donkey Maua. Our little puppy Simba is happy about his own little cottage.

Cow #1 Cow #1 Cow #1 Cow #2 goats Goats Maua Maua

 

All iron sheets were painted to prevent rust, the office is finished and many small construction sites pushed forward. It now seems as if there is electricity in Maua Villa. The solar light bulbs fulfill their purpose and give us up to 5 hours of light in the evening!

Painting iron sheets Painting iron sheets Light @ Maua Villa Light @ Maua Villa Office Office

 

We build a blackboard and pimped up a jerry can which now can be used to wash hands after using the toilet. A real wiping mop helps the work of Florence who can now scrub the floor using this instead of an old tattered shirt and her been bend over on her hands. It sounds so simple and it is but for Florence it’s a very great pleasure. In addition we built a new dishrack and optimized the fire place in the kitchen.

dishrack Dishrack fire place Fire place Wash your hands! Wash your hands!

 
Thanks to all of your overwhelming last-minute support we were able to buy 15 more school desks for our kids in Maua Villa as well as the children of the Outreach program, this ensures immediate schooling.

A heartful thank you to all of you, who guide Pamoja Africa on the journey to becoming an independent and sustainable project!
 
ASANTE SANA!

 
Pamoja – we can do this together!

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someoneShare on Google+

This post is also available in: German

Leave a comment

Tierbehausung Tierbehausung Water Scan Water Scan Hundehütte Hundehütte

 

Mit neuen Ideen und voller Tatendrang komme ich aus Kenia zurück. Es waren vollgepackte 4 Wochen. Gemeinsam haben wir wieder einiges auf den Weg gebracht. Am meisten freue ich mich über unsere neue house mom Florence. Sie ist so ein toller Mensch, kümmert sich rührend um unsere Kids und hat sogar ein Lehrer-Background, was für die Hausaufgabenbetreuung der Kinder sehr wertvoll ist.
 
Wir haben den Grundstein für „Trinkwasser für Maua Villa“ gelegt und durch einen Ground Scan feststellen können, dass es Wasser auf dem Grundstück gibt. Wasser ist und bleibt die größte Herausforderung, insbesondere wenn sich die Regenzeit nicht als solche herausstellt (während des Monats in dem ich vor Ort war hat es nur zwei Mal geregnet…) und dadurch die Ernte mau ausfällt, was wiederum den Teufelskreis mit sich bringt, dass selbst Lebensmittel wie Mais und Bohnen gekauft werden müssen. Dass wir Wasser auf dem Grundstück haben ist somit der Startschuss für ein nachhaltiges Projekt. Es wird sicher noch ein langer Weg bis wir genügend Mittel zur Verfügung haben das Projekt „ Trinkwasser für Maua Villa“ zu stemmen, aber ich habe keinen Zweifel daran, dass wir das zusammen hinbekommen.
 
Wir haben eine Tierbehausung – die gleichzeitig als Lagerplatz für die Ernte genutzt werden kann – gebaut sowie 2 Kühe, 3 Ziegen und einen Esel gekauft. Maua – unser Esel – wird zukünftig beim Wassertransport helfen. Und unser kleiner Welpe Simba freut sich über seine eigene kleine Hütte.

Kuh #2 Kuh #1 Kuh #1 Kuh #2 Ziegen Ziegen Maua Maua

 

Um Rost vorzubeugen wurden alle Wellblechdächer gestrichen, das Office finalisiert und viele kleine Baustellen vorangetrieben. Es scheint nun als gäbe es Strom in Maua Villa. Die Solarglühbirnen erfüllen ihren Zweck und schenken uns am Abend bis zu 5 Stunden Licht!

Dächer streichen Dächer streichen Licht @ Maua Villa Licht @ Maua Villa Office Office

 

Wir haben eine Tafel gebaut und ein recycelter Kanister dient nun zum Händewaschen nach dem Toilettengang. Ein echter Wischmop erleichtert Florence die Arbeit. Statt mit alten zerfetzten Shirts und kopfüber mit den Händen zu schrubben, kann Florence die Böden nun aufrecht putzen. Das klingt so simpel, ist es auch, aber für Florence war das eine sehr große Freude. Ein neuer Geschirrspül- und Abtropftisch erleichtert ihre Arbeit zusätzlich und außerdem haben wir die Feuerstelle in der Küche optimiert.

Geschirrspültisch Geschirrspültisch Feuerstelle Feuerstelle Hände waschen! Hände waschen!

 

Dank eurer überwältigenden Last Minute Unterstützung konnten wir noch 15 Schultische für unsere Kids in Maua Villa sowie den Kindern des Outreach Programs kaufen und somit den sofortigen Schulantritt sicherstellen.
 
Ein herzliches Dankeschön an euch alle, die Pamoja Africa auf dem Weg, ein eigenständig und nachhaltiges Projekt zu werden, kontinuierlich und vielfältig unterstützen!
 
ASANTE SANA!

 
Pamoja – wir schaffen das zusammen!

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someoneShare on Google+

This post is also available in: Englisch

Leave a comment