No posts found.

 

 

About the association

The Non-Profit-Organisation Pamoja Africa e.V. is an initiative that was founded in June 2014 in order to support projects of development work in Kenia. Currently we are funding the children’s home Maua Villa which helps deprived children from the area of Kivingoni. The purpose is to give those children the chance for a life in human conditions. Our final aim is the projects to run independently after a while and to further develop and finance themselves without the support of third.

How it all began

It all started in 2010 when I went to Kenya for the first time to do voluntary work in an orphanage. One thing that impressed and captivated me very much was the Kenyan culture and lifestyle itself. The orphanage was well equipped for Kenyan standards. They had electricity, running water, a teacher for assistance with homework and several warm meals a day available for the kids. Together with a social worker from the orphanage I went to the surrounding areas to find out about the children’s former living conditions and visited the houses of sponsored kids’ families. Thereby I witnessed in what unbelievable poverty many Kenyans have to live. Back in Germany and infected by Kenya I started to collect money with several fundraising campaigns. Through being in constant contact with the orphanage, I also learned more and more about how it is managed only to find out that its founder profited more from it than I could ever imagine. My first direct contact with the ongoing Kenyan corruption frustrated me a lot but on the other hand it motivated me to do it in a better way myself.

 

 

Already during my first long visit to Kenya, which lasted several months, I had created a good network. Besides difficult framework conditions, the land and its people were two key factors which occupied my mind constantly. While back in Germany I’ve stayed in steady contact with Meshack Itumo and together with other loyal people by my side I want to contribute to the fight against the prevailing injustices which occur in Kenya. I am convinced that especially the more remote and poor regions of Kenya need initial help so after this first step together it will enable them to maintain themselves. I am also convinced that people there can profit in the long term and learn from some of our western ways of implementing an infrastructure for sustainable income and wellbeing. Besides existing know how, it is also the lack of financial resources which can hinder projects to actuate. This is exactly where we see Pamoja Africas’ mission.

 

Our long term goal for the project is to independently develop and finance itself without external help. 

 

With a smile from the heart I say ‘PAMOJA’ – we will achieve this goal TOGETHER!

Unterschrift-Anja
Anja Krauth

This post is also available in: German

• Kamb ya Simba - Asanti Sana.
  • Foto Linke

 

 

Über den Verein

Der im Juni 2014 gegründete gemeinnützige Verein Pamoja Africa e.V., ist eine Initiative zur Unterstützung von Projekten in Kenia. Derzeit fördern wir das Kinderheim Maua Villa, welches den benachteiligten Kindern des Gebietes Kivingoni ein würdevolles Leben ermöglicht und ihnen eine Perspektive für die Zukunft gibt. Unser Ziel ist es, dass sich das Projekt im Laufe der Zeit eigenständig und ohne Unterstützung Dritter weiterentwickeln und finanzieren kann.

Wie alles begann

Ich war 2010 das erste Mal in Kenia und habe als Volunteer in einem Waisenhaus gearbeitet. Die kenianische Kultur und Lebensweise hat mich sehr beeindruckt und auf eine gewisse Weise in ihren Bann gezogen. Das Waisenhaus war für kenianische Verhältnisse sehr gut ausgestattet. Es gab Strom, fließend Wasser, eine zuständige Lehrerin für die Hausaufgabenbetreuung und die Kids wurden mit mehreren Mahlzeiten am Tag versorgt. Um zu erfahren wie die ursprünglichen Lebensverhältnisse sind, ging ich mit dem Sozialarbeiter des Waisenhauses in die umliegenden Gebiete und machte gemeinsam mit ihm Hausbesuche bei gesponsorten (vom Waisenhaus unterstützten) Kindern. Dabei habe ich gesehen, in welcher unglaublichen Armut eine Vielzahl der Kenianer leben. Zurück in Deutschland und von Kenia infiziert, habe ich angefangen mit kleinen Spendenaktionen Geld für das Waisenhaus zu sammeln. Durch den ständigen Kontakt lernte ich zunehmend die Hintergründe des Waisenhaus-Managements kennen und stellte leider erst nach sehr langer Zeit fest, dass der Gründer des Waisenhauses mehr profitierte, als ich es mir jemals hätte vorstellen können. Meine erste hautnahe Erfahrung mit der anhaltenden Korruption in Kenia führte zu einer großen Enttäuschung aber gleichzeitig auch zur Motivation es selbst besser zu machen.

 

 

Bereits durch meinen ersten mehrmonatigen Aufenthalt habe ich ein gutes Netzwerk in Kenia aufgebaut. Land und Leute haben mich trotz oft schwierigen Rahmenbedingungen nicht mehr los gelassen. Ich stand weiterhin von Deutschland aus im regelmäßigen Kontakt mit Meshack Itumo. Zusammen mit loyalen Menschen an meiner Seite möchte ich durch direkte, transparente Förderung einen Beitrag im Kampf gegen die herrschenden Missstände leisten. Ich bin davon überzeugt, dass gerade die abgelegenen, armen Regionen Kenias gefördert werden müssen, um sich nach den ersten gemeinsamen Schritten selbst helfen zu können. Die Menschen dort können von westlichen Denk- und Handlungsweisen lernen und nachhaltig profitieren. Neben dem vorhandenen Wissen fehlt es am nötigen Startkapital (finanzielle Mittel und Know How), um Projekte in die Gänge zu bringen. Und genau hierin sehe ich die Mission vom Pamoja Africa e.V.

 

Wir wollen eine Starthilfe für langfristige, nachhaltig wirkende Projekte sein, die sich nach einer Lernphase selbst tragen und nicht weiter auf Spendengelder angewiesen sind.

 

Mit einem Lächeln im Herzen sage ich ‘PAMOJA’ – wir schaffen das ZUSAMMEN!

Unterschrift-Anja
Anja Krauth

This post is also available in: Englisch